Home

News

Genetic and non-genetic causes of severe COVID-19
February 19, 2021

Written by Nirmal Vadgama, PhD Edited by Kumar Veerapen, PhD and Jamal Nasir, PhD Note: This blog post is catered to the lay audience. The COVID-19 Host Genetics Initiative (HGI) represents a consortium of over 1000 scientists from over 54 countries working collaboratively to share data, ideas, recruit patients and disseminate our findings. For a primer on our study design or the results from the…

Distinguishing causality from correlation -- What factors drive SARS-CoV-2 infection and Covid-19 Severity?
February 05, 2021

Written by Annika Faucon and Shea Andrews, PhD Edited by Kumar Veerapen, PhD Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) is a highly transmissible and pathogenic virus that emerged in late 2019 and as of February 2021 has resulted in more than 2.4 million deaths (further reading: Dong, Ru, and Gardner, 2020). The threat SARS-CoV-2 presents is not uniform; certain pre-existing…

January 25, 2021 meeting
January 29, 2021

Webinar 8: January 25th, 2021 9:00am EST / 2:00pm GMT / 3:00pm CET Agenda: 1. Welcome & updates (25 min) Topics & speakers: a. Results from data freeze 5 meta-analysis (Andrea Ganna, FIMM) [Slides] b. HGI data browser (Matt Solomonson, Broad Institute) 2. COVID-19 HGI manuscript update (25 min) Topics & speakers: a. Manuscript overview & figures (Mari Niemi, FIMM) [Slides] b. Next steps for HGI…

November 19, 2020 meeting
November 24, 2020

Webinar 8: November 23rd, 2020 9:00am EST / 2:00pm GMT / 3:00pm CET Agenda: 1. Welcome & updates Speakers: Andrea Ganna (FIMM) [Slides], Matthew Solomonson (Broad) [Slides] Group discussion 2. COVID-19 HGI manuscript update Topics & speakers: a. Manuscript development process and status updates (Andrea Ganna, FIMM) b. Proposed consortium review process (Ben Neale, MGH & Broad) c. Initial proposed…